Lighting: Beauty light

So here comes my first lighting tutorial..

A simple set up that I use variations of a lot for my beauty shots..

Heres a chart with how I set it up: And since I forgot to put it up on the chart itself; heres the lighting input.

If the main light is set to about F8, the two light coming from behind should be about 1 – 2 stops above that, and they should be equally strong.

LightingSetup

If you use it just like that, it should (hopefully) turn out something like this:

_msg3726

_u1c2071

Or you can use different variations of the set up.

For instance, here are a few of my favorites; This one is lit with the same mainlight, and the reflector below, but instead of two backlights, I have one. And its slightly weaker than in the initial set up.

_u1c0055-edit

Or you can even swap the main light: Here I use a normal strobe without a grid as mainlight instead of the beauty dish. And I use a single strobe to light from the behind.

_msg7684

Hope it comes in handy for some of you out there =)

One response to “Lighting: Beauty light

  1. Pingback: Christina B 02 « cruelphotography.com

Leave a Reply

